The ET-R&D project is funded within the ASPERA-2 framework for the period from 1 March 2013 to 29 February 2016. It is aimed at essential R&D tasks in preparation for a technical design of the Einstein Telescope. While the basic design mostly relies on techniques well developed and tested for the advanced detectors, several aspects still require R&D with long lead times. We will target the most important of these topics in the ET-R&D project via 5 working groups (WGs).



Legal Entity Name


Scientist in Charge

Full Partners


NIKHEF: National Institute for subatomic Physics


J. v.d. Brand


LUH-AEI: Leibniz Universität Hannover, Albert Einstein Institut

Institut für Gravitationsphysik

H. Lück

FSU: Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena

Institut für Festkörperphysik

R. Nawrodt


The Russian ET Consortium

MSU-SAI: Moscow State University, Sternberg Astronomical Institute (lead) MSU-PD: Moscow State University, Physics Department
INR RAS: Institute of Nuclear Research Russian Academy of Science

V. Rudenko (SAI, lead), V. Vyatchanin (PD), L. Bezrukov (INR RAS)


The Polish ET Consortium

University of Warsaw (lead), University of Zielona Gora, University of Bialystok,
Warsaw University of Technology, Polish Academy of Science (Inst. of Mathematics),
Polish Academy of Science (Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Centre)

T. Bulik (UW, lead),
D. Rosinska (UZ),
P. Jaranowski (UwB),
T. Starecki (WUTechnol.), A. Krolak (IMPAN),
M. Bejger (CAMK)

United Kingdom

UNIBHAM: Birmingham University

School of Physics and Astronomy

A. Freise

UNIGLASGOW: University of Glasgow

Institute for Gravitational Research

I. Martin

UNICARDIFF: Cardiff University

School of Physics and Astronomy

B.S. Sathyaprakash

UWS: University of the West of Scotland


S. Reid




Legal Entity Name


Scientist in Charge

Associated Partners


EGO: European Gravitational Observatory


M. Punturo

UNIROMA1: University di Roma La Sapienza

Dipartimento di Fisica

F. Ricci

INFN Napoli


F. Barone



C. Bradaschia


LMA: Centre national de la recherche scientifique

LMA Lyon

R. Flaminio

ARTEMIS : Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur, Nice


T. Regimbau


RMKI: Hungarian Academy of Sciences

KFKI Research Institute for Particle and Nuclear Science

I. Racz (KFKI)

Geodetic and Geophysical Research Institute

G. Papp (Geophys.)


BNO RAS: Russian Academy of Science

Baksan Neutrino Observatory INR

V. V. Kuzminov